Skip to content

What’s better than Matter-Eater Lad?!

January 27, 2011

I’ve been thinking pretty intensely for the past few days over which super power I most want, and it’s been quite the dilemma. I even googled “Obscure Super Heroes” looking for inspiration, which didn’t lead me to any mind blowing ideas, but did lead me to my new favorite super hero- MATTER-EATER LAD! (source)

Matter-Eater Lad, Attack!!!!

Matter-Eater Lad has to be by far the most unappreciated super hero in the DC Comic world. With his incredibly ability to consume literally anything he wants, how can you keep Matter-Eater Lad down?!

Later on, I started thinking about what would help me the most in this first week of school. With one of my beloved roommates reeling from a difficult break up, diving into a vat of radioactive gunk in order to gain the incredible super power of always knowing the perfect thing to say would be fantastic, and a nice break from the inane and repetitive, “I know, I know, it’s hard.”

And call me vain, I don’t care, but I would gladly be hit by lightening in order to gain the ability to put together a perfect, cute outfit without even trying. Just think of all the time saved in the mornings, all the frustration gone, all the outfit changes due to spontaneous weather no more. Beautiful. I wouldn’t be thwarting the plans of criminal masterminds, but it would make a great impact on my day-to-day life.

At the end of the day, I just can’t say that I would want any other super power than flying. As common as it is, there just can’t be anything better. I guess that’s why I have to look out the window when my plane takes off, or why I’ve ridden the Superman roller coaster at Six Flags a thousand times. Because there just can’t be a better feeling than being able to soar through the air to any and all destinations.

Don't you just want to be in that hammock?

I’d just have to invest in some beach front property in Bora Bora.

Source

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2011 12:30 am

    I like that you actually took the time to look up what obscure powers you could find. It is interesting to know that DC did make other superheroes with less practical superpowers.
    I also enjoy that you didn’t fluff any of your comments to say it will be useful to others. You openly admit it is something that you personally would enjoy. Great blog.

  2. February 3, 2011 2:38 pm

    Matter-Eater Lad..priceless. If you ever found yourself trapped at the bottom of a pool of gelatin, you are in business. I took a bit of liberty, and looked into ol’ Matter Eater Lad, and he wasn’t into cannibalism either; I imagine that was a taboo in the 60’s

    I don’t know if you ran across this superhero in your quest for the lamest of the lame, but Arm-Fall-Off Boy?

Leave a Reply

