Skip to content

iPad vs McCann, Dancing, Cheese, and Lounging

February 17, 2011

There's only one thing I enjoy in this picture. And it ain't the technology.

I’ve never entertained the idea of purchasing an iPad. That might be because I’m not an Apple person in general (although I threaten my PC with the change when it throws a fit at me).  But mainly it is because there’s nothing I can do on an iPad that I can’t do on my laptop, and there is so much more I can do on my laptop that I cannot on an iPad.

In my quick research on the pros and cons of the iPad, I kept coming across one general idea: that the iPad is meant for consumption, not creation. iPads are great for consuming all types of media, your email, ebooks, the internet, news, games and the like, but they have no USB port to upload things, no camera to record things, no multitasking and no flash player. I could play Angry Birds all day (and totally would), but I could not get things done on an iPad. My phone can do more than that and make phone calls AND it fits in my pocket.

The most ridiculous part of purchasing an iPad to me is actually purchasing the iPad. The cheapest option is a 16GB with Wi-Fi, but no 3G network for $500. I can think of so many other ways I would rather spend $500. Out of that thought, the following list was created.

Things I Would Rather Spend $500 on Than an iPad

1. Braves Season Tickets in the Upper Box – $498. Sure, it’s the cheapest option for season tickets, but seeing JHey and the crew at every home game is totally worth more than an iPad to me. You get all kinds of benefits with your season tickets too, like being able to tell people you have Braves Season Tickets.

 

 

2. Two plane tickets from Atlanta to New York City and two tickets to see Billy Elliot the Musical while you’re there – about $500. I Travelocity-d this one. About $200 for each ticket, and then $100 for two tickets to see Billy. And if you haven’t seen the movie the play was based on (Billy Elliot), it is one of my favorites, and you should definitely see it. But only if you’re prepared for a lot of dancing and a lot of beautiful moments. He just wants to dance, you guys, HE JUST WANTS TO DANCE!

 

 

 

3. A wedding cake of cheese – I know, this is totally weird and crazy, but you’re just going to have to trust me that this is all the rage at chic-er than chic weddings. Or so I read. This cake is called the Gold Hill, is made of five different layers of cheese and costs roughly $375 dollars. Let’s just pretend the S&H would be enough to push it to $500. For people who hate cake, but love cheese, how about that? Perfect fit. For those of us who think those people are insane in the membrane, you have to admit it is one gorgeous cake.

 

 

4. The Nelson Marshmallow Sofa – This has been the sofa of my dreams ever since I saw it at a thrift store in Atlanta for $500. George Nelson was an American designer and architect and is called one of the fathers of American Modernism. He has churned out some of the coolest appliances and furniture I have ever googled.

Now, a new Marshmallow Sofa costs much much more than $500, but that just shows you the power of thrift stores, of luck, and of missed opportunity. Plus it shows  how ridiculous it is to spend $500 on half a laptop when you can get something way cooler.

 

What are some things you guys would spend $500 on?

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Beanie permalink
    February 17, 2011 1:54 pm

    I’m kinda of a technology whore and would love and ipad but you’re right there are much better ways to spend $500 especially when I have a laptop and ipod already.

    Can we go halfsies on that couch? You get it the 1st and 3rd weeks of the month and i get the other 2.

  2. Brooklyn permalink
    February 18, 2011 3:29 am

    No way, Beanie! Not unless I get it for a week, too. Besides, wouldn’t it be more efficient to keep the couch for both weeks before moving it?

    I’m not sure this qualifies, but I’d rather use the $500 to cover seven days of legal advocacy for someone rescued from slavery or forced prostitution by International Justice Mission. Or, the $500 could pay for twelve days of aftercare for a rescued victim(http://www.ijm.org/give/impactofyourgift).

  3. February 18, 2011 5:10 am

    I love your list of things that you would do over getting the iPad, and your other reasons (the iPad is consumptive not creative) are very well thought out.

    I’m not to certain on the cheese wedding cake though…. but I did see a couple awesome pairs of boots and a dress or two I would totally throw $500 at.

  4. March 5, 2011 12:34 am

    I agree with your thoughts on the iPad….I would use an iPad if someone GAVE me one (when Sal is rich and famous, I know she’s going to give me one….). But, since I’m not going to buy one, and IF $500 just fell from the sky into my wallet here in Tifton, I would spend it on plane tickets to see Sally in San Francisco this summer.

Trackbacks

  1. iPad Comments « Alexis S.

Leave a Reply

