Skip to content

Them Statesboro Blues

March 4, 2011

I do enjoy living in Statesboro.  The weather is perfection, people are friendly, El Sombrero has three separate locations, and we just got a new Fro-Yo place- La’Berry! What more could students possibly want?

SO. MUCH. MORE.

I would bring a ton of stuff to Statesboro if I could. More diverse restaurants (INDIAN FOOD! PLEASE!), more shopping (AN ACTUAL MALL) and infinite number of  options for everything else. Here are the top four business that I would love to pop up in Statesboro.

 

 

1. When it comes to what Statesboro is missing, students at Georgia Southern spell “necessity” T-A-R-G-E-T. I would love a Target to open up somewhere on Northside Drive.  I don’t even shop there all that much when I’m at home in Marietta, but I guess there is the comfort of knowing it’s always there, waiting for me. Just in case I need a quick gift, or my favorite purse breaks and I need a cheapo but cute-o, I have three Targets in three directions at my disposal. There is something so melancholy about knowing the closest Target is an hour away.

 

2. A Dollar Theater! The dollar theater in Marietta is called “The Picture Show” and it is my favorite theater. It may smell iffy sometimes and the bathrooms are gross and the people who work there are probably high and the seats may be falling apart, but it is 100% worth it. Tickets are $1.75, except for 75¢ Tuesdays! The movies that are shown aren’t terrible old; right now they have Harry Potter, The Tourist, and TRON, among others. I love going to the movies, but with movie tickets disgustingly high, neither I, nor anyone, else can afford to go to the regular theater. I think a dollar theater would make bank in Statesboro. I know I would be there all the time.

 

 

3. Trader Joe’s. Another grocery store other than the mass of squabbling people they call Walmart is so important. I would be ecstatic over anything really, Publix, Krogers, etc. But if I had my way, we’d get a Trader Joe’s.  It’s always affordable and always different. If you’ve never been in one, I highly recommend strolling around a bit inside. They have such weird products like fozen mahi mahi or pumpkin butter. Stuff that makes you say, “Yeah, ok, why not?”

 

4. This one is more for me than for anyone else. I want a new bar, one different from the usuals like Rudys and Retrievers. I’ve been told this could never work in Statesboro, that it would never do well enough to make a profit. I choose to disagree. Sure, I like getting all pretty and walking over to the bars, especially when there’s a fun cover band, or something else exciting. However, if I have to go see the Velcro Pygmies one more time, or if I hear stupid “Like a G6” one more time I’m going to lose my mind. I just want somewhere different to go. Somewhere that could be a venue for bands that I like, bands like The Fratellis or Girl Talk.

Athens has 8es, where they play all 80s music, Atlanta has, well, everything, including some great salsa clubs. I just want one place here where I can dance and drink with my friends to something other than Rihanna.

 

Maybe one day these things will show up, but not during the remainder of my time here at GSU. So for now, I’m with Blind Willie, singing them Statesboro Blues.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 5, 2011 12:17 am

    Great suggestions….for Tifton, too!

Leave a Reply

