Skip to content

Picasso & Public Relations

March 8, 2011

 

Dalí

Picasso

 

I do not seek, I find.

– Pablo Picasso

 

 

 

 

 

 

I enjoy this quote by Picasso much better than the topic of the week’s quote (Sorry, Mrs. Groover!). For me,  the quote is comparable to carpe diem, but it inspires more confidence  that I can find success even when there is no clear opportunity around. Maybe you don’t always have to seek an impressive accomplishment to find an impressive accomplishment.

My most recent noteworthy accomplishment occurred last week when I volunteered to give a presentation in my Hispanic Literature class about Pablo Picasso (hence the quote). It was a small triumph, but one that I think made a difference in my approach towards that class and towards my attitude about my work. You see, I am never the first person to speak up or to give a speech and be happy about it, but that’s a quality that I’m constantly trying to overcome, especially in my Spanish classes. So I did it because I knew it would help make speaking in public easier in the future, because I knew I had to improve my Spanish speaking destrezas (skills) and because I have a deep love for Spanish painters, like Picasso.

I believe that sometimes we have to create our own opportunities and make them rock solid successes, rather than seek out other happenings that will bend to our causes.

 

 

 

I might not have been as enthusiastic to talk about Pablo Picasso to my classmates if I had not been wowed over winter break by the works of Salvador Dalí, who was influenced greatly by the cubist painter. The High Museum in Atlanta recently had a large exhibit of Dalí’s late works that I had been dying to go to for months. The chance for me to see so many paintings I’ve read about came in the form of a beautifully constructed campaign by the High called Dalí ‘Til Dawn.

In the last weekend of the exhibit, the High Museum threw a massive goodbye party for the famous artist. The exhibit was open for 31 hours and there was continuous entertainment including Dalí inspired performance artists, bands, and films. There were activities for kids on Sunday, and from the hours of 12am to 9am on that Saturday, admission was only $5 compared to the usual $18. (I took advantage of the cheap tickets, going with my parents at 5am. Totally worth it.)

The campaign was a huge success, drawing over 20,000 people to the museum in those 31 hours. Thousands of people were exposed to Dalí AND to the High museum who otherwise might not have been. My parents, for example, had only been to the High once, but plan on going more often because of the wonderful time we had.

The High Museum created a huge event practically out of thin air that benefited both the museum and the people of Atlanta, and ultimately cemented not only my love of Dalí and Spanish art, but also my desire to share it with others. I can only hope that wherever I end up in my career in public relations, that’s the kind of work I will be doing.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. evanne permalink
    March 8, 2011 10:35 pm

    I like your quote much better also! I feel like Carpe Diem puts too much pressure on one to do things that might not necessarily be in their best interest. Seizing the day is all about taking advantage of opportunities, but maybe if we find our own opportunities, we would be much better off.

  2. Noele Crooks permalink
    March 9, 2011 3:16 am

    Great post! I wanted to go see the Dali exhibit as well but never got to. I had no idea there was a 31 hour event…what a great idea, and a creative title for that matter. And the cheap price at odd hours makes it adventurous and awesome. I’m green with envy, but none the less…I think this is a very good example of a successful public relations campaign, and a very fitting quote you chose as well 🙂

  3. March 9, 2011 3:44 am

    Yea I think the Picasso quote fits better. It makes you think but at the same time realize what you must do to be successful in life

  4. March 9, 2011 7:25 pm

    I must say I’m pretty inspired by your quote here. Life continues to amaze me in the ways t we as humans find inspiration through events, happenings etc. Your recent encounter with the Master provoked a response that, while not in the norm, was a hell of a way to learn and educate others. It wasn’t but earlier this week, while I was watching TV, I thought, ” I really should be learning something instead of pretending to multi-task with a laptop on and the TV shouting in the background.” Que up a $50 spree at Books-A-Million; now I have plenty to do with my free time, educate myself on current events.
    Never cease to find wonder in the world around you

  5. March 10, 2011 12:11 am

    Ahh I love this post! You hit the nail on the head with that quote too, I feel like it’s a lot more relevent in today’s society. Also, loving your seize the day moment. Sometimes it’s hard to put yourself out there…especially in another language!

Trackbacks

  1. Week 7 Comments | Noele Crooks' Blog
  2. Carpe Diem Comments « pharone

Leave a Reply

