Skip to content

Week of Twitter

April 17, 2011

My twitter account and I have a love/hate relationship.

I love reading tweets from my hilarious Braves that have accounts (Peter Moylan, Kris Medlen, Freddie Freeman and Jason Heyward). I enjoyed reading about and chatting with my classmates this week. You guys are very cool people. I like having an excuse to take pictures with my phone and immediately post them to facebook and twitter. I very much liked being connected to my favorite businesses like Starbucks.

However, I hate the person I become when I’m active on twitter. At the GSU baseball game Wednesday, I was tweeting about the score of the game when I realized my roommate had been chatting up a couple of dudes in front of us for the past few minutes. And where was I? Busy trying to convince my phone I wanted to say “Eagles” and not “Salutes.” Completely ignoring everyone else.  I found myself in that kind of  situation a few times this week, and not just because I’m still terrible at touch screens (although that certainly doesn’t help).

To me, twitter seems useful only when you have a goal for it. For example, Home Depot‘s twitter page creates a relationship between the company and its customers by interacting with them, answering questions and listening to complaints. I think that’s lovely. It’s so difficult and so important to have a personal relationship with individual consumers.

I will keep using twitter, because it is a helpful tool and, what can I say, I’m nosy. I’m going to want to keep commenting on my friend’s lives and things my celebrity tweeters say. I’m sure the more I use it, the more I’ll love it, but I refuse to become attached to it. I don’t want to ignore the people around me while I read my suddenly humongous news feed, or ever think that what’s going on on Twitter is more important than interacting with people in real life.

Also, I really want Kris Medlen or Jason Heyward or Peter Moylan to tweet me back. It’s my new life goal.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

